DILG USec Rico Puno resigns

After being linked to the alleged bidding anomaly of PNP firearms, which was alleged as the reason for him and other policemen to try to enter the condo unit of the late DILG Secretary Jesse Robredo, Undersecreatary of Interior and Local Government Rico Puno resigned today.

In his statement regarding his resignation, he detailed the chronology of events that transpired on the days of Aug 18 and 19, 2012. He said those were the exact events that took place as he follow the orders of the President.

“I believe that I have carried out my assigned duties to the best of my ability. Moving forward, I have resigned as DILG Undersecretary to support the President’s decision to give a free hand to the incoming Secretary in forming a new team. I wish to thank President Aquino for his trust and confidence in giving me the opportunity to serve our country and people.believe that I have carried out my assigned duties to the best of my ability. Moving forward, I have resigned as DILG Undersecretary to support the President’s decision to give a free hand to the incoming Secretary in forming a new team. I wish to thank President Aquino for his trust and confidence in giving me the opportunity to serve our country and people.” – Puno said

On the side of Malacanang, Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda in a statement, said that the President has accepted Puno’s resignation effective immediately.

Senate Probe on Puno to continue

Meanwhile, the Senate will still continue its probe on Puno despite his resignation. Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago who is the chairperson of the Committee on Constitutional Amendments, Revision of Codes and Laws said Puno’s resignation has nothing to do with the probe that she is pushing for.

She explained that “There is no precedent that any person who resigns or even retires from public service is automatically acquitted of any liability for any misdeeds during his term of office so he’ll still have to appear.”

3 thoughts on “DILG USec Rico Puno resigns

  1. My poem, “I am a Filipino, yet suffers, too”, is the result of my disappointments as a Filipino. Good thing that Puno resigned – he has been a disappointment, since the bloody Luneta hostage. There are other many others that pushed me to write the poem. Just the same, I am no losing hope…

    Like

    • yup i also read the poem,still qeued at the comments section. thanks sir, i share the same sentiment, this exit of Puno in the Aquino administration is long overdue. he should have been axed long time ago. 🙂 thanks for dropping by again :-). will feature all your poems in the future 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Usec. Puno’s resignation: A sign of guilt or out of respect? « Philippine Review

Post a comment

