One More Try wins the 38th MMFF Best Picture Award

MMFF2012WinnersFrom the 8 entries in this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival, Star Cinema’s adult drama offering One More Try gets the nod of the judges to win the most coveted Best Picture Award. Directed by Ruel S. Bayani and stars Angel Locsin, Angelica Panganiban, Dingdong Dantes and Zanjoe Marudo, the film bested the critically acclaimed film by Brillante Mendoza, Thy Womb and the Historical Film El Presidente of E.R Ejercito Directed by Mark Meilly.

In tonight’s awarding ceremony hosted by Kris Aquino and KC Concepcion at the Meralco Theatre, One More Try reaped 6 awards including the Best Picture and the back to back Best Actor win for Dingdong Dantes who also won the same award last year for Segunda Mano.

Meanwhile, it was the historical film about the Philippines’ 1st President who got most of the awards totaling 8, including 2nd Best Picture. Thy Womb of Brillante Mendoza on the other hand won 7 awards including, Best Director and Best Actress for Nora Aunor. This is the 8th Best Actress trophy of Aunor from MMFF.

Here’s the complete list of winners in tonight’s 38th MMFF Awarding Ceremony;

Best Float – El Presidente
Youth Choice Award – El Presidente
Best Child Performer-Β  Miguel Vergara (One More Try)
Best Sound Engineering – Albert Michael Idioma (El Presidente)
Best Musical Score – Jessie Lazatin (El Presidente)
Best Theme Song – Apl de Ap and Jamir Garcia (El Presidente)
Best Make-Up – Warren Munar El Presidente
Best Visual Effects – Imaginary Friends and Blackburst (Shake Rattle and Roll XIV : The Invasion)
Best Production Design – Brillante Mendoza (Thy womb)
Best Cinematography – Odyssey Flores (Thy Womb)
Best Editing – Vito Kahili (One More Try)
Best Supporting Actor – Cesar Montano (El Presidente)
Best Supporting Actress – Wilma Doesnt (Sisterakas)
Most Gender Sensitive Film – Thy Womb
FPJ Memorial Award for Exellence – One More Try
Best original Story – Henry Burgos (Thy Womb)
Best Screen Play – Jay Fernando and Anna Karenina Ramos (One More Try)
Best Director – Brillante Mendoza (Thy Womb)
Gat Puno villegas Cultural Award – Thy womb
3rd best picture – Sisterakas
2nd best Picture – El presidente
Best Picture -One More Try
Best Actor – Dingdong Dantes (One More Try)
Best Actress – Nora Aunor (Thy Womb)

New Wave Category and Short Film

New Wave Best Actor – Allan Paule (Gayak)
New Wave Best Actress – Liza Dino (In Nomine Matris)
New Wave Best Director – Tyrone Acierto (The Grave bandits)
New Wave Best Picture – The Grave Bandits
New Wave Special Jury – Armando “Bing” Lao (Ad Ignorantiam)
New Wave Most Gender Sensitive Award – In Nomine Matris
Best Short Film – Pukpok (De La Salle University)
Most Gender Sensitive Short Film – Manibela (FEU)
Special Jury Prize – Daniel Bautista (Unviersity of San Carlos)

Other Awards

Male Star of the Night – Joseph Estrada
Female Star of the Night – Nora Aunor
Male Celebrity of the Night – Zanjoe Marudo
Female Celebrity of the Night – Bianca King


11 thoughts on “One More Try wins the 38th MMFF Best Picture Award

  1. Pingback: One More Try, Thy Womb and El Presidente Sweep Awards on MMFF 2012 Awards Night | EnteRvrexWorld

    • hehehe. or maybe the MMFF criteria for judging is the joke? hehehe. i know one of the basis in picking the best picture is commecial viability or ticket sales, thus the 3rd best picture went to sisterakas. πŸ™‚ I just hope they will scrap that rule and create another award for the most viewed film of the festival and stick the criteria for best film into excellence, creativity and artistry. anyways thanks for reading and commenting, appreciate it so much πŸ™‚ till next time



  3. Pingback: Angel Locsin Congratulates MMFF 2012 Best Actress Nora Aunor | EnteRvrexWorld

    • hahaha ako wala pang napanood kahit isa hehehe. pero based sa trailer tsaka sa ilang reviews na napanood ko, may lalim naman nga daw yung istorya at maayos naman ang acting nung mga lead stars. salamat sa comment idol.hehe congrats pala sa panalo mo sa SBA πŸ™‚


Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s