Liberal Party completes “Team Daang Matuwid”

After several delays in revealing its 12-person senate slate for the 2016 Philippine election, the administration’s Liberal Party finally completed its line-up and was presented Monday October 12,2015 at the LP headquarters in Balay, Cubao Quezon, City.

*Photo from

*Photo from

The 12 would be Senators who will carry the banner of Team Daang Matuwid are; Senate President Franklin Drilon, Senator Ralph Recto, Senator Teofisto Guingona III, Francis Kiko Pangilinan, Panfilo Ping Lacson, SOJ Leila de Lima, Jericho Icot Petilla, Joel Villanueva, Mark Lapid, Risa Hontiveros, Cresente Paez and Nariman Ina Ambolodto.

Five veteran senators, three controversial former cabinet secretaries, two familiar names in Philippine politics and 2 new names composed LP’s Team Daang Matuwid.

It’s quite noted that rumored erring cabinet members De Lima and Villanueva are part of the LP’s senate slate. Before coming up with the final line-up, there were rumors that Joel Villanueva will not likely to join the slate if De Lima will also be part of it. It seemed LP’s leadership or even the president made efforts for the two to settle their difference and agree to join the admin’s senate line-up.

Another notable in the LP’s line-up is the inclusion of 2 still unknown names, Crisante Paez and Ina Ambolodto. According to Sen. Drilon the two are important members of the civil society and the muslim communities. Paez being the representative of Co-Op Natco can be a great addition to forward the advocacies and aspirations of the marginalized sectors. Same with Ambolodto who was internally displaced due to conflicts in the muslim region of Mindanao. The addition of two can be seen as a reflection of what LP standard bearer Mar Roxas’ call to espouse platform based and issue based politics and campaign as opposed to personality based trapo politics.

Apart from the two newbies, the other members of the Team Daang Matuwid are veteran senators and familiar names in politics. Senators Drilon, Recto, and TG Guingona will vie for their re-elections. Meanwhile former senators Kiko Pangilinan, and Ping Lacson will try to stage a senate comeback after important positions in the Aquino Cabinet. The last 3 on the other hand, Petilla, Hontiveros and Lapid were familiar names in local politics.

Petilla was the former governor of Leyte before being appointed at the Department of Energy. Risa Hontiveros is the former Akbayan representative and now Philhealth director. This will be Hontiveros’ third try to get a senate seat. And Mark Lapid son of outgoing Sen. Lito Lapid is the former Pampanga governor and now TIEZA Director.


Nite Writer is on Facebook at and you can also follow me on Twitter @rojan88


Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s