Leonardo DiCaprio wins 2016 Oscar Best Actor Award

Finally, after 12 years of waiting, Leonardo DiCaprio has won an Oscar. After being nominated several times and got snubbed, The Revenant star now has the Oscar in his hand.


In today’s award’s night, Leonardo DiCaprio was named the 88th Annual Academy Awards Best Actor in a Leading Role for his film The Revenant. DiCaprio bagged his first academy award after portraying a betrayed 19th-century frontiersman seeking revenge in the survival drama film “The Revenant”. DiCaprio who was nominated 4 times before getting the Best Actor awards beats Bryan Cranston for “Trumbo”, Matt Damon for “The Martian”, Michael Fassbender for “Steve Jobs” and Eddie Redmayne for “The Danish Girl”.

Meanwhile, the biographical crime drama, Spotlight which tells the story of investigative journalist who investigates the cases of widespread and systemic child sex abuse by numerous Roman Catholic priests in the Boston Area was adjudged as this years Best Picture.


Here’s the complete list of winners at the 88th Oscar Awards.

Best Picture: “Spotlight”
Best Direction: “The Revenant,” Alejandro G. Iñárritu
Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”
Best Actress: Brie Larson, “Room”
Best Supporting Actor: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”
Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”
Best Adapted Screenplay: “The Big Short,” Charles Randolph and Adam McKay
Best Original Screenplay: “Spotlight,” Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy
Best Cinematography: “The Revenant,” Emmanuel Lubezki
Best Production Design: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson (set decoration)
Best Film Editing: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Margaret Sixel
Best Visual Effects: “Ex Machina,” Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett
Best Costume Design: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Jenny Beavan
Best Makeup: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin
Best Sound Editing: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Mark Mangini and David White
Best Sound Mixing: “Mad Max: Fury Road,” Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo
Best Original Score: “The Hateful Eight,” Ennio Morricone
Best Original Song: “Writing’s on the Wall,” from “Spectre,” Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith
Best Foreign Language Film: “Son of Saul” (Hungary)
Best Animated Feature: “Inside Out”
Best Documentary Feature: “Amy”
Best Animated Short: “Bear Story”
Best Documentary Short: “A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness”
Best Live Action Short: “Stutterer”


For the latest news, follow Nite Writer on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/NiteWriterPH and follow me on Twitter @rojan88


Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s