Supreme Court acquits former Pres. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

The Supreme court on Tuesday July 19 has acquitted former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on her plunder case.

In a vote of 11-4, the high court gave acquittal verdict to Arroyo’s plunder case for the PSCO Fund scam.

After 4 years in hospital arrest, former President and now Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal Arroyo will now be free after the Supreme Court sided on their demurrer on week evidence against her.

Reports gathered by the Philippine news agencies said the former President is in high spirit after getting the reports on her acquittal.

Supreme Court Justices who voted to acquit Arroyo were Associate Justices Presbitero Velasco Jr., Teresita Leonardo-de Castro, Arturo Brion, Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Mariano del Castillo, Jose Perez, Jose Mendoza, Bienvenido Reyes, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Francis Jardeleza.


Only Chief Justice Ma. Lourdes Sereno, and Associate Justices Antonio Carpio, Marvic Leonen and Benjamin Caguiao who voted against Arroyo’s plea.

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s case started in 2012 when the graft court issued warrant of arrest for plunder over the mis-use of 366M PSCO intelligence fund.

For the latest news, follow Nite Writer on Facebook at and follow me on Twitter @rojan88


Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s