Duterte threatens to impose Martial Rule,Pimentel says nothing wrong with it

President Rodrigo Duterte again floated the idea of declaring martial law to aid his war on drugs.

In a speech in front of Davao businessman over the weekend the president said if he has to declare martial law, he will do it and no one can stop him even the Supreme Court nor the Congress.

duterte-martial-law

“I have to declare martial law, if have to, to preserve my country … and the Filipino people…. Walang makapipigil sa akin … wala nang invasion, invasion,” the president said.

“I have to protect the Filipino people. It’s my duty. And I tell you now, if I have to declare martial law, I will declare it. Not about invasion, insurrection, not about danger,” the president threatened. “I will declare martial law to preserve my nation, period. Wala akong pakialam diyan sa Supreme Court. Because the right to preserve one’s life, and my nation, my country, transcends everything else, even the limitations,” he added.

Duterte is using his war on drugs as the basis of his threat to declare martial law. He said if the drug situation in the country goes out of hand he had no choice but the put the country under martial rule.

Duterte’s ally and president of his political party PDP-Laban, Senate President Koko Pimentel however dispels array of fears with regards to Duterte’s martial law statements.

sen-pres-koko-pimentel

In an article by GMA News, Pimentel said there was nothing to fear or worry about President Duterte’s martial law threat.

“Don’t worry about martial law declaration. I’m sure the President would make a lot of consultations before doing that,” he said

Pimentel also suggests there’s nothing wrong with the president declaring martial law.

“Legally speaking, everything he said is correct,” Pimentel said. He added, “If all the criteria in the Constitution are present and it’s up to the President to do what is right for the country. A lot of things can happen in five and a half years.”


For the latest news, follow Nite Writer on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/NiteWriterPH and follow me on Twitter @rojan88

 

Post a comment

